Skip to content

The Beauty of Gibran

June 29, 2012

There is writing & there is Gibran’s writing, mystic, poetic & mesmerizing. When I read book sometimes I drop it in the beginning, sometimes I throw it in the midst & sometimes I finish it bored. But, my favorite is the book that I swallow in a blink & one breath, among the later one, books written by a Lebanese American writer Kahlil Gibran (1883-1931) are lined up in the front.

When I meet Gibran via his books, I submerged deep in emotion & sentiment. I feel as of, I personally meet with the characters, it may be God or the Devil. Sometimes Gibran strangulate & leave me breathless.

If Gibran lives before 2000 years, I bet he was one of the writers of the Gospels or some Chapters in the Quran. I am not waging in vain, rather with a strong backup like his masterpiece The Prophet & Jesus the Son of Man.

If you are wondered how a man evolve to be mad, Gibran’s  Madman explain the rational behind his madness like this:

You ask me how I became a madman. It happened thus:

One day, long  before many gods were born, I woke from a deep sleep and found all my  masks were stolen,-the seven masks I have fashioned an worn in seven  lives,-I ran maskless through the crowded streets shouting, “Thieves, thieves, the cursed thieves.”  Men and women laughed at me and some ran to their houses in fear of  me.  And when I reached the market place, a youth standing on a house-top cried, “He is a madman.” I looked up to behold him; the sun kissed my own naked face for the first time. For the first time the sun kissed  my own naked face and my soul was inflamed with love for the sun, and  I wanted my masks no more. And as if in a trance I cried, “Blessed, blessed are the thieves who stole my masks.”

Thus I became a madman.

I feel same here, if I lost all my masks I will roar naked in search of it & I will evolve from ‘man-ness’ to madness. My mask can be love or Compassion, But, I am not sure whether it includes Freedom.

Gibran’s Madman continues his explanation of the result of his madness:

And I have found both freedom of loneliness and the safety from being understood, for those who understand us enslave something in us. But let me not be too proud of my safety. Even a Thief in a jail is safe from another thief.  

I envy The Madman’s privilege of safety.

In The Prophet Almitra ask the Prophet to tell them about Love and the Prophet answers beautifully:

LOVE has no other desire but to fulfill itself. But if you love and must needs have desires, let these be your desires: To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night. To know the pain of too much tenderness. To be wounded by your own understanding of love; And to bleed willingly and joyfully. To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving; To rest at the noon hour and meditate love’s ecstasy; To return home at eventide with gratitude.

 

Oh Gibran!

To share my Love experience with Gibran, herein below, I attach some of his works, CHEERS !

 

A Tear & A Smile

Jesus the Son of Man

Lazarus & his Beloved

Sand & Foam

Satan

Spirits Rebellious

The Earth Gods

The Forerunner

The Madman

The Prophet

The Wanderer

Some content on this page was disabled on May 14, 2016 as a result of a DMCA takedown notice from Kensington Publishing. You can learn more about the DMCA here:

https://en.support.wordpress.com/copyright-and-the-dmca/

From → መጽሀፍት

One Comment
  1. I love your blog.It is informative,inspiring and entertaining.It is nice to see an Ethiopian blog focusing on philosophy,books and literature.The addition of books at the end of your each post is admirable and praiseworthy.I hope you will continue in this path for years to come and i will visit your blog whenever you post new article.THANK YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

